A Ladybug’s Life and Death

I saw a ladybug

struggling against the breeze

on leg jerking, unaturally

It became apparent  that  she was dying.

I watched, torn..hoping that I was mistaken, until it became painfully obvious..painfully, I imagined to us both, that I was on her last leg.

Watching, I considered, wI saw a ladybug

struggling against the breeze

on leg jerking, unaturally

it became apparent  that was she was dying

I watched, torn..
hoping that I was mistaken, until it became painfully obvious,

painfully I imagined to us both.

Watching, I considered, what my role was, in watching. With a quick stamp, I could put her out of her misery, and was I not morally obligated to do so?

But I considered also how I was likely projecting mine own thoughts;

Would I, we’re the situation reversed, want for her to euthanize me?

IS MAN THE ONLY CREATURE with he free thought and will to choose his own termination?

Do other animals commit or even conceive SUICIDE?
The foal with the broken leg; the aged dog; the bird with broken wing,.

or this insect..

do any of them ever consider stopping, relenting, giving up,

Self-terminating.
Is this human urge, to euthanize..to “put to sleep” or to “put out of one’s misery” . Is this to end what we perceive as their misery?..

or ours?

As I watched, a harsh wind flipped the ladybug on its back..

my response was without thought..
I grabbed a leaf and gently flipped her back on to her crippled legs.

Leave a Reply

